Scented Edible No-Cook Fingerpaint Recipe for Babies and Toddlers

paint

We all want our little ones to be artsy and creative. Well what better than to let them paint? Safe, edible paint for toddlers is great to make! You don’t have to worry about chemicals or toxins again!

I’d had the idea to have X play in yogurt since it’s so silky smooth – but then thought, hey, why not make it into paint?  I know a lot of bloggers use Kool Aid and for so long I’d resisted because I somehow thought it had sugar already in it?  I hate that sticky sugar feeling.  But I was totally wrong – Kool Aid powder has no added sugar!  And the smells – ohhhhh yum!!!
Because I did want to discourage X from tasting, and as I mentioned, I really dislike sticky sugar residue, I bought plain yogurt.  Most brands of plain yogurt are unsweetened altogether, and are quite tart.  Though edible, it was a great teaching paint since the flavor really was not one you’d like to taste more than once!  I used small cups to measure out about two big spoonfuls of yogurt and I added 1/2 to a whole packet of Kool Aid, depending on the color (I needed very little red and orange, for instance).
If your baby has a dairy allergy, or has not yet been introduced to dairy, you can use any kind of yogurt you’d like – rice, soy, coconut milk – they all work!  If you can’t find Kool Aid or don’t want something scented, just add a drop or two of food coloring and stir well.  You will still have beautiful edible fingerpaint!
For whatever reason our local Safeway didn’t have any green Kool Aid, so I mixed half a packet of the yellow Lemonade and the blue Blue Raspberry and made my own green!
Leave a Reply

